Importance of GRE Math subject test in top stat PhD programs

Hey guys,

I intend to apply for stat phd programs in the winter and am planning on taking the GRE math subject test in October. Many of the top programs desingate this test as 'strongly reccommended.' I studied math in undergrad, but I took computation-heavy calculus like four years ago, something that makes up a large portion of the test. I've started my review, but even though I would say it comes along well when I get down to it, I'm struggling to find time as I'm currently working full time, and there is quite a bit to go over.

I've seen other posts on this topic (from a few years back) with a lot of mixed feedback on the question. I also know that these programs have only gotten more competitive in the past couple years. So, for people who have some inside knowledge on this, I'm posing the question again. How important would it be for me to submit scores on this test? What would be the cut off for submission (e.g. 70th percentile)? Probably way too specific, but any guesses on what percentage of accepted students at a program like Chicago or Wharton submit the test?

Thanks for any responses.

Edited by Robbentheking

This is one of the great mysteries when it comes to top stats departments. Math departments tend to talk about the GRE math subject test in terms of lower bounds (e.g., UCLA's math states that most applicants are at least 80%). Statistics departments are much more ambiguous. Stanford states that the average for admitted students is 82% but what is the distribution around that average?