Hi, I´m applying this year for a doctoral program on Political Science. I have a question regarding GPA. In my country the scale is 1-10, I graduated top of my class but with 8.7, if I just convert it by cross-multiplication the grade is not that good.

Should I convert the GPA or ask my university to convert the grades to a 4 point scale in order to complete my applications? Or should I just put the original grade and the admissions comittee will know how to interpret grades from my country?

I really appreciate any help!

Thanks!

According to http://www.classbase.com/countries/Argentina/Grading-System, an 8.7 would be the equivalent of an A- or 3.7. However you're on the higher end of the A- which would be closer to a 3.9.

However, not all institutions will convert it like this. (Can you imagine trying to convert GPAs from more than 100 countries each of which a certain grade is considered different?)

If you can, include an official statement from your college indicating how the grading scale should be interpreted.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm familiar with the Argentine system.

Look for a good converter site and stick to it. Your 8.7 is fairly high so don't shy away from the 3.9 @Warelin mentioned. Anyway, in your application package you will include an unofficial transcript. By 'unofficial' I mean a copy of it. But it should be as legit as possible and with translation. Translators usually include somewhere that the grading system is over ten. Anyway, in your CV you can write next to your degree: 3.9 GPA (8.7/10). Admission committees are not stupid. I don't think the official statement from your college is necessary. I know MANY international people from around the world and NONE of them submitted anything of the sort. If you don't get in, trust me, it won't be because the admission committee couldn't figure out what 8.7/10 meant. I mean, seriously.