Preparation and Research

Pizzas of Eight

Hello everyone,

I'm a second-year undergraduate in a UC history program, and my intent is ultimately to pursue a doctorate in a history. Lately, however, I've been struggling in my head on what I want to study specifically in undergraduate and then graduate. I came into this year thinking along the lines of studying ancient Mediterranean history, so I enrolled in a relevant history class as well as Latin and Ancient Greek language courses.

As I've looked through the Internet, however, I can tell I'm basically historically illiterate. I have questions that may seem stupid, but I want to get a sense of the historical process in general. Specifically, I want to know whether formulating a research question on ancient Mediterranean history is even worthwhile - surely for 2000 years everything that can be said about antiquity has basically been said (absent of actual new physical discoveries, i.e. archaeology, etc.). I also want to know how I can educate myself on the theory of history and how historians do their work - essentially how I can become aware of higher-level academic thought, perhaps more specifically in ancient or Middle Ages Europe. Is there any direction that I can be pointed in with regards to this?

Thank you all.

We are going to turn you around and tell you, go to your professors.  They are the real experts in your areas of interest.  They know the historiography very well and offer suggestions for potential research questions.

Remember, you need letters of recommendations from your professors for graduate programs. How can they write one if they don't know what you're asking here?  They want to engage with you to be able to write a strong and positive letter.

I agree with what has already been said, but I would like to add that many of your questions can be answered if you merely read a lot.