Reading During the Winter Break: A Bad Idea?

Neist

I'm about to finish my first semester, and everything is going well. To be honest, I haven't enjoyed myself in quite a number of years. That being said, I haven't been without something to do in years, and I was hoping accomplish a pile of reading during the winter break (sitting around doing nothing will probably give me anxiety).  However, as this is my first year, I was curious if this was a bad idea. 

Should I spend the time resting/relaxing? Is burning through a pile of books a bad idea, considering that I enjoy reading the material?

I don't specifically consider doing so bad, but I'm a rather novice graduate student and thought it apt to ask advice. I'm quite enjoying myself, but burnout is something that I'd rather like to avoid.

Edited by Neist
Clarification

Reading during breaks should be your only idea.I don't know any in grad students who does not use the breaks to read at their own pace. Once the Spring semester resumes you're going to wish you had used that time to burn through those books. Since being in grad school I have spent every break reading and researching. During Thanksgiving break I only took two days to myself to literally do nothing. It truly lifts the load once the semesters start back up. 

Really take the first week to do nothing.  Seriously.  You DESERVE it.  Once you get yourself together and sane again, you can begin to read at your own pace.

I was morbidly exhausted for the first 7-10 days after handing in my last paper to do anything.  I did not feel guilty at all.  (Maybe because my adviser explicitly told me to 'take a break'.)

Thanks for the replies! And, of course, I found a confusing typo. It should be written as, "I haven't enjoyed myself this much in quite a number of years." Ergh. 

@Klonoa I only had 1 day to myself during the break. :D A lot of my final papers were due relatively early. I used the break to burn through the last push.