No GRE, no prerequisites required

ashny

Does anyone know of any ASHA certified universities that don't require a GRE  and don't require a CSD degree or prerequisites either.

I was at school over 25 years ago (and not in this country either) so the GRE is a major stumbling block for me. I have an undergraduate and Masters degree but they are not CSD related. Thanks

There are some that don't require GRE maybe (I'm not sure, but I've heard they exist,) and some that don't require prereqs (but you take them in your first year of the masters, if admitted) BUT I have never heard of a school requiring neither. 

To be frank, SLP is very competitive and will only continue to get more competitive. With a lower GPA, things like a high GRE score and taking the prereqs and doing well bolster your chances of getting in. 

CSU Fullerton doesnt require the GRE 

http://communications.fullerton.edu/graduate_students/hcom/pdf/Admission Requirements for CD M.A. program_9_17_15.pdf

I would strongly encourage you to take the GRE if you are applying to American schools because they are sometomes used in conjunction with the GPA to qualify for scholarships. 

Other places that don't need the GRE are Australian schools like the University of Queensland or Macquarie University as those offer master's programs that have American alumni who were able to meet 2005 ASHA certification standards. Check first with ASHA if they accept those programs as part of the Mutual Recognition Agreement and make sure the program coordinators will work with you to get your academic and clinical hours for ASHA certification. 

Also, the University of Canterbury's Master in SLP program in New Zealand has ASHA certified professors who might be interested in helping you.

Edited by ImHis

On 12/27/2016 at 5:13 PM, ImHis said: