Most Competitve and Fiscally Responsible Gap Year Options: Currently Applying for Jobs and Fellowships   

10 members have voted

1. 1. Most Competitve and Fiscally Responsible Gap Year Options: Currently Applying for Jobs and Fellowships

• Work at a University as a Research Assistant in a field unrelated to UP, but related to health [Paid, but low pay]
    • Apply to/Complete a Competitive Year-Long Fellowship (starting in May) in a field related to UP [w/ stipend]
    • Work as a Research Assistant/Analyst for Private Urban Planning consulting company [paid, decent amount and will save a good portion]
    • Work part-time in a semi-related field to save money and take data analytics course at local comm. college, and still apply to fellowships/programs starting in the summer

Hi All!

I am a recent graduate (c/o 2016) interested in pursuing a Masters and/or PhD in Urban Planning in Fall 2018 (Interested in merging Public Health and Analytics - Using City/Regional data to create healthier spaces)
Undergrad Major: Global Health and Environment, 3.39 GPA (3.76 major GPA)
GRE: Haven't taken it yet, but I'm a decent test taker and will probably score in the upper 70s or mid/lower 80 percentile)
Programs: Columbia GSAPP's MSUP (Urban Analytics), UC Berkeley,

I have spent the past few months interning at public health organizations (domestic & internationally)

Here are my questions:
(1) Do I have a chance at getting into Columbia and/or Berkeley? Are there other graduate programs that focus on data?

(2) Considering more competitive applicants with higher marks, is it possible to receive a scholarship or RA-ship funding for a graduate program with my grades? How can I become more competitive?

I don't know anyone in real life who is in UP, which is why I'm here. Anything is better than nothing, so please please impart some knowledge! Thank you!

**Also please do the poll above to help me be more competitive, :)

Edited by jmm00
Poll