Are interviews supposed to be conclusive?

trisarahtops

I had an interview on Monday: a short 15-20 minute video chat (I am doing my masters in France) with a professor whose work I had mentioned in my statement of purpose. It was a nice conversation, but I was left with more questions than answers? Does it mean I have a higher chance of acceptance? Since he didn't mention my admission status, does it mean I didn't get in? My real question is: do you typically end an interview knowing whether or not you are accepted?

While I can't speak for every program out there, typically you do not find out the end result from the interview. I would say that usually the interview is just one component and the committee will likely meet again after interviewing all the candidates and decide how to move on from there. The interview is just one part of the process.

I don't think I've ever heard of a case where someone had an interview and had an answer immediate at the end of it, one way or the other. The interview is just one part of the process, and usually the professor who interviewed you will then meet with the rest of the committee to report back and make decisions. You might not hear back for a little bit, but that shouldn't be cause for concern. 

6 hours ago, trisarahtops said:

My real question is: do you typically end an interview knowing whether or not you are accepted?

They typically end with "we will let you know at X time" as they probably have other interviews to conduct. They can't possible say you have the slot when the next person they interview could be a better fit. After they interview everyone they plan to interview, they will meet and decide who they let in. 

Edited by .letmeinplz//

I just had an interview that confirmed what everyone has said.