Out Of Field Leveling Student or get SLPA license before SLP

Hi, I am having difficulty making a decision about graduate school. 

I graduated with a bachelor's in education but I would love to pursue a career as a Speech Language Pathologist. Because my degree is in something other than SLP, I am an out-of-field leveling student. Should I go back and get an associate's degree in SLPA and THEN pursue SLP at a graduate program? Or would I have to retake classes to get a bachelor's after the associate and then apply for the master's program? Or could I get my associate in SLPA and then go straight to a grad program since I already have a bachelor's? 

or would it make more sense to go ahead and take leveling courses and then apply to grad school for SLP and not go back and get an associate's degree in SLPA?

I'm so sorry if this is confusing. 

I was accepted to take leveling courses at UNT in Denton but I would not be able to get financial aid and that's another big reason why I feel like I should get an associate and then go to grad school. Although would I be able to receive financial aid in getting an associate's after I have already received a bachelor's? 

Thank you in advance.

I am also in Texas. I essentially would like to end up with an SLP license. How long would it take if I went back and got my associates.

Edited by SophSLP

Where do you live? What are your state's licensing requirements for SLPAs and are there jobs available?

It is confusing because there isn't a one size fits all type of answer for you. What I've learned about this whole process is no matter what, you will hit some hurdles. You can:

1. Complete a SLPA program (2 years), work while completing your 2nd bachelors or leveling programs...or you might be able to get into a masters program that include leveling courses.