Help Needed- International Student

izmir

Hello everyone,

I am kind of new here. I am junior studying PSC at a US college. I want to go to grad school and study Authoritarianism-Public Opinion- Voter Behavior mainly. I started preparing for my application so I have a couple of questions for you.

1. Although I am in a good range in Q (163-166) , my verbal is not that good (around 153-154). I will do my best to improve it until I take the test this summer but I don't know how hard I should study for it. Do you think having a lower score on Verbal would hurt my chances a lot given that I am an international student?

2. I am searching for grad schools with a focus on Middle East-Authoritarianism as I suggested above, do you have any program recommendations for me?

3. Lastly, I am so desperate about my chances for getting into a T20 school. My profile is below, what do you think?

Major:Political Science Minor: Statistics 

GPA=3.98

LoR= All from tenured professors. One with a professor that I RA'd before.

Research: I will be doing a research this summer on a grant from my school and am hoping to use it as my writing sample.

I speak Turkish fluently and German at an advanced level.

Edited by izmir

1. Yes. You should try and get your verbal score to the 160s. You're going to be exempt from the TOEFL, so you can dedicate more energy to it. My first simulated test got me at 156 on both parts. Eventually, I got V162 Q168 at my first attempt, but only because I studied considerably for a couple of months. Verbal questions are usually a pain in the ass, but you shouldn't let that drag you. And make sure your Analytical Writing is not awful (4.0 minimum).