Applying for NSF GRFP and Ford Foundation Fellowship: Advice and where to find the best information

Quantitative_Psychology

I am currently a first year Masters student in Psychological Research, and I want to apply to a PhD program in Quantitative Psychology next year. I recently heard about predoctoral graduate fellowships, and I am highly interested into applying for them (mainly Ford Foundation and NSF GRFP). However, I don't know very much information about the process (there has never been an applicant in my program), and it is unclear to me what information is accurate online. Does anyone have any advice for the application process (in psychology in particular)? Are there any great guides or websites I should be looking at? Is there a way to access past proposals that have been successful?

Thanks for your help. Even basic information is helpful considering I just started looking at these today. :D

4 minutes ago, paleoatmo said:

If i'm not mistaken, you can not apply for the NSF GRFP if you have more than 12 months of graduate study, aka you can not apply if you already have your Master's. 

Some master's take 12 months or less. 

In addition to the websites listed above, I would highly highly recommend working with multiple profs on your personal statement and research statement. Try to see if anyone from your institution has served on a GRFP review committee before, even if it's in a slightly different field or subfield (it can sometimes be better to have someone who doesn't know you look at your personal statement, too!). You can also work with grad students or post-docs who've previously won the award, if you know any. The general tips from those websites are great (and I used them to a degree), but nothing beats the one-on-one feedback from a prof or other live person!

7 hours ago, paleoatmo said: