Tips for researching MFA programs? (besides going to their website)

Hi everyone, first off I apologize if this is not the right place for this topic or if it has already been discussed. I'm literally brand new, made the account today.

A little about myself, I graduated from my undergrad this past december from Appalachian State University, a small school in the mountains of North Carolina. I moved to Albuquerque NM to take a year off and build new work in solitude. My plan is to apply for a graduate program in painting this upcoming cycle. I am a little overwhelmed with all the options, and need some advice on how to REALLY research a program besides reading through each program's website and sending emails. 

I am really looking for a school that gives their students the direct attention we deserve for committing so much time and effort into a unpredictable business. I really do want to go to a school with a good reputation, but that's not my primary motivation, however, there is something to be said from having a good reputation. A lot of my work comes from my interest in literature and philosophy, which ends up having a lot of representational abstraction.

Any help would be wonderful! If any of this sounds good to you let's stay in touch!

Edited by Chris Yuda

Hey Chris!!

Right off the bat some programs that might be a good fit for you: UChicago, Northwestern, Rutgers, UCI, UMichigan.

For that sort of direct attention, you would likely be best served in a smaller program. Do you want to be having a painting-focused discourse? Or do you want something interdisciplinary? The programs I listed above all are small (12-30 students) & interdisciplinary. UChicago, Northwestern, UMich, and UCI lets you take classes outside the school of art; UCI has sort of theory "minors" that you can do. Yale—not interdisciplinary—also has you take classes outside of art.