I got accepted to Berkeley’s Master of Development Practice and Johns Hopkins’ SAIS DC. I graduated from UC Berkeley in 2015 with a degree in Environmental Economics and Policy. Though I haven’t had relevant professional work experience, I attended community college meanwhile to take classes for my own interest.

Berkeley’s tuition is about $48k/year and offers small funding ($3k/year) while SAIS DC’s tuition is about $47k/year with no funding. Cost of living in DC and SF bay area are similar. I know UC Berkeley very well and it seems like I may have some advantage getting campus jobs that I may be able to graduate debt-free. 

While these two programs are not exactly the same, they will help my career goal, which is to work in international organizations focusing on Latin America in the long-run.

Here are pros and cons I see from each school:

Berkeley

Pros:

• Campus jobs that will help me financially
  • Bigger campus, more departments such as ERG and Latin American studies
  • Fellowship opportunities for the second year

Cons:

• I spent 4 years there. I am not sure if there’s much I can get out of this school. But Berkeley is a big school and being a graduate student is different from undergrad. So I’m not sure if it’s a big con.

SAIS:

Pros:

• Being in DC
  • SAIS is more known and prestigious than MDP. 
  • Emphasis on quant skills

Cons:

• I have no clue how I can minimize student loan (or if possible at all).

What do you think? I would like to get some advice from others.

Edited by caffeineoverdose

@caffeineoverdoseI got accepted to Berkeley MDP program, too. What's different is that I'm trying to make a decision between Berkely MDP & Columbia MPA-DP. I'm having financial difficulty in both programs, and the high cost has been my biggest headache.