I'm currently working as a direct staff support for a home of adults that have intellectual disabilities. I thought a majority of the job was going to be on communication with them but that consist of 25%-30% of the job. The rest I am basically a caregiver--cleaning the house, cooking, helping them with personal management, hygiene, etc. I'm looking into other jobs. I got an interview for an assistant to a teacher at a preschool but I'm not sure if that will better my chances of getting into grad school. I'm having second thoughts about the job search and just sticking with the job I have. I have a second job and between that and this other job, I don't have time to shadow SLPs. When I asked what I needed to improve on, the admissions said my GRE could use some work. I'm studying for the GRE but I feel that that is not enough and I don't want to waste my time with this job and not doing something else. Any advice would be great!

After two failed rounds of applying to grad school and twice retaking the gre to only improving my writing from a 3.5 4o 4 and only improving my verbal a couple points, I decided I would try and gain some volunteer experience with the population. I volunteered the past school year once a week at an integrated preschool. There I assisted the special education teacher with the classroom and got to work with kids with Autism, Down Syndrome and developmental delays. They were also super helpful and let me observe with an slp since I expressed an interest an becoming an slp. I think that really boosted my application and after 3 times trying to apply I am going to grad school in the fall and I even had a choice between schools :) It sounds like you have awesome experience with adults! I would use that and also if you are able apply to schools all over. I found that I had a better time not restricting my applications to a certain region of the country. Don't give up if this is what you want to do!

Here are some ideas: