I graduated with a BA in Psychology last December and am trying to find the right program to suit my intended career goals. My biggest interest is to do conduct research concerning mindfulness and meditation practices. I would love to be able to collect both brain data as well as human behavioral data to support the use of these methods with those with both clinical and non-clinical mental health needs. 

My interest is to show changes in the brain as well as daily behavior after I have worked with participants. I would like to be able to work with people to teach them mindfulness methods as well as meditation, breathing exercises, possibly yoga or qigong, myself either with individuals, couples, families, or groups. Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction programs such as these have already been used in other studies.  Teaching them these skills myself caters to my initial desire to be a counselor/therapist.

My subsequent desire is to complete controlled experiments to show the changes in brain activity and structure possibly using EEG, MR, fMRI, basically what I am able to get my hands on. I would like to be able to pair this data with behavioral data collected from self-reports, peer-reports, surveys, or observation.

Now, I am willing to settle/begin with doing research around types of neurocounseling methods, mindfulness is just my end game, hopefully. I want to be able to directly work in teaching these skills as well as gathering, cleaning, and analyzing the brain data collected.