I just took the GRE and did awful. Applying to I/O PhD programs. Help?

crystalcolours

I just took the GRE this morning, and I only got a 150 (Q) and 157 (V). I know these are less than amazing scores, and I don't have enough time to realistically re-take the exam with a meaningful difference and make this application cycle. 

GPA: 3.7 
Major GPA: 3.9
2 years of research experience in multiple labs
Conducting an independent project
2 very strong LOR, 1 decent LOR 

I planned on applying to Ph.D programs at: 

Colorado State University
Portland State University
University of North Carolina
Clemson University
University of Georgia
Wayne State University

I'm feeling quite hopeless right now, and like I don't have a chance in heck. I had already planned on applying to some masters programs to be on the safe side, but now I'm not even sure if I'm competitive enough for those... :(

Edited by crystalcolours

I'm no expert on the topic, but I'd say still apply. Admissions know that GRE scores are not everything. In fact, way more weight is given to letters of rec and research experience. Just ensure that those programs you are applying to are one's you're super passionate about. And make sure you convey that passion and enthusiasm. Make it super evident when applying. Write your personal statements from the heart. At the end of the day, I feel like everything happens for a reason, and you'll end up getting accepted into the program you are meant to be in. Also, remember the power of the mind and positive thought. I know it is easier said than done, but if you keep worrying and thinking your chances are hopeless, than those worries and fears will manifest in physical form. Stay positive, and don't be so hard on yourself. You're trying your very best, and that's all that matters. I can really empathize with you. I also have a great GPA but struggle with standardized tests, mostly because of test anxiety. It sucks, but I think many people are aware of people like us and tak