How bad a mistake is it?

Hi all,

I'm a Masters' student in my first semester. I wrote an academic book review as part of a class assignment and then sent it out for consideration. Because I was submitting to websites I was not strict about submitting to only one, and so messed up and wrote to two. When I explained to the second (after they responded) that I would not be able to give them the review and apologised profusely for my mistake, I got an abusive response calling me a 'weasel and a scoundrel' and telling me to talk about this behaviour with my faculty advisor. Now I'm aware that it was a mistake, but was it that bad to merit that kind of response? I'm an international student, and am also not sure how bad this is in the American academic context. I'll obviously never do it again, but am I basically blacklisted for life?! 

Without knowing more details, it is hard to give advice, but no professional should ever call someone a weasel and a scoundrel unprovoked. If that's their response to a retraction maybe you shouldn't care if you are blacklisted. 

If you are blacklisted, it'll probably only be until that editor moves on though.

Thanks. I was taken aback by how violent the reaction was. I understand that a lot of publications have a strict policy regarding multiple submissions, but it was an honest mistake and I didn't think it merited that kind of response. Especially since I was apologetic and explained the situation, owning up to my mistake before they could run it or even pass it on to their other editors. 

18 hours ago, Arwen27 said:

I got an abusive response calling me a 'weasel and a scoundrel' and telling me to talk about this behaviour with my faculty advisor. Now I'm aware that it was a mistake, but was it that bad to merit that kind of response?

The name calling was inappropriate and having a quick chat with your advisor about your miscue would not be too terrible an idea.