PhD social/personality psychology

Kai819

Hi there,

This is the first time I am ever using this site, so here I go. I'm planning to apply to about 7-10 graduate schools in hopes for a phd in social/personality psych. However, my gpa is a 3.40. I have about 2-3 years of experience in research on personality. I will take the gre in a month, and I'm pretty confident in my letters of rec and my statement. 

Can anyone give me a realistic opinion on my chances? I know I don't have a 3.8+ but I've heard that doesn't matter much as long as you've got a good application as a whole. However, I've also heard gpa is used to weed people out.

help!

Just go for it! Is it over all 4 years or the last 2? Some schools only look at the GPA of your major or last two years (and some don't). In the end, evaluation is pretty holistic anyway. Sure there may be cut off scores, but its often a combination of GPA and GRE, as well as experience. 

3 minutes ago, Psygeek said:

Just go for it! Is it over all 4 years or the last 2? Some schools only look at the GPA of your major or last two years (and some don't). In the end, evaluation is pretty holistic anyway. Sure there may be cut off scores, but its often a combination of GPA and GRE, as well as experience. 

The past two years is my research experience. Going to present a poster at a conference this year too. I'm just worried about the GRE.. I'm not good at standardized tests!

• 3 weeks later...

I would say depends on the schools you are applying and overall fit with your research interests and the faculty whom you wish to study under.