Think long and hard about taking on so much debt

hedong123

Hello everyone,

I lurked these posts around the years 2012-2015 on an almost daily basis. I thought it appropriate that I return to share my story, the decisions that I made and my future goals. My hope is that this post helps at least one person out there.

I graduated from a small in-state university in 2006 with a major in finance. I quickly landed a job at a reputable financial services corporation in Maryland (this was pre-financial crisis). My salary was a paltry 35k per year. After 19 months in corporate hell I quit and moved to Korea to teach ESL in South Korea. I ended up staying there for about four years and left fluent in the language. I then spent some time travel writing in Cambodia and Myanmar. 

Upon returning to the US my dream was to eventually get a job at a non-profit in a developing country in SE Asia (actually I still hope to do this someday). The economy was still pretty poor at this point in time and I knew I'd need a solid graduate degree to have a shot at landing a job at any reputable NGO abroad. For money I got a job on the docks with my family. I spent all of my free time studying for the GRE exam and polishing my fluent Korean skills. 

During my first application season I got accepted to SFS and SAIS but with no aid. I decided to hold out and try again the following year. My best offer eventually came from my dream school - SAIS. They offered 8k per semester and I was told I'd get at least that amount the second year, so let's call it 32k. At that point I had a huge decision to make. My job at the waterfront was going very well (dockworkers do well when the economy is picking up). I had a solid middle-class income and I was leaning towards giving it up to pursue a MA at SAIS and rack up, at a minimum, 60k in student loan debt.

I decided against going to SAIS and there's a simple reason why:  

The FI/RE movement.