What about roommates?

cafeaulaitgirl

So as I have started my apartment search and some of my future classmates have mentioned getting roommates. I am 30 years old and I have lived alone for the last 3 years so I didn't even consider a roommate but I do realize that my income is about to take an 80% cut. So I am wondering, do most grad students get roommates? Does it make a difference getting a roommate after having lived alone? Any suggesions? I am on the fence here! Thanks!

It depends entirely on your campus and situation. When I did my masters I was able to live in a 1-bedroom apartment 30 minutes off the rural campus with a 10-hour part time job on top of my graduate stipend. I wasn't the only one - I'm not sure how they did it without an additional job, but perhaps I was not as wise with my money. Now, going to a PhD in a city, I will need apartment- or housemates to stay within my stricter fellowship budget, but I will never have roommates. If you are moving to the very center of a metropolis you may need a roommate, but apart from that extreme circumstance you should be able to find a bedroom for yourself among grad students. Unless your campus is in high demand for property or your stipend is truly paltry, you should also be able to find a studio or 1-bedroom apartment for $100-200 more than you would pay to rent a room. I would say that the money is worth it depending on your personal preference; it sounds as if $200/month to have your own place would pay off in avoiding co-habitation stress.

I would do anything possible not to have a roommate. I currently live with two flatmates, and that is challenging enough. It really depends who you're living with though. My current flatmates are amazing, very clean and quiet. However, I've also come across some very (VERY!) messy ones, who never cleaned after themselves in the common areas of the apartment, not even after being told repeatedly to please do so.