amazoniangoddess

Question

Recent graduate with my BA in Sociology, really looking to get my phD in Clinical Psych with a Law emphasis so I can become a psychologist within the law enforcement career. 

BUT due to certain circumstances while enrolling in uni, I wasn't able to take any psychology undergrad courses along with my sociology degree, so I have very minimal psych background--like maybe 5 classes in total. I have no research experience in psychology, and I'm currently looking at taking a post-bacc program at UC Berkeley. I might have some connects in getting into a lab for research experience, but it's not solid. Regardless, my question is: 

should I go get my Master's first--and put myself in further debt--and add two years to my already 4-6 years of schooling for my phD? 

OR 

Find some research experience, take this post-bacc program at Berkley &apply for my phD for fall 2020? 

ANY TIPS ADVICE ETC will be so beneficial. Even if its the harsh truth! I will love to hear stories about what others did, especially if it was someone in a non-psychology background to see what challenges they've faced etc. All is welcome though! 

sidenote: I might have to take the post-bacc program regardless of which path I take. 

Thanks. 

Edited by amazoniangoddess

3 answers to this question

There are some programs in Psychology that do offer a partially-funded or fully funded MA degree. Some programs I'm aware of are:

College of William and Mary (Williamsburg, VA)

Indiana State University (Terre Haute, IN)

Villanova University (Near Philadelphia, PA)

Wake Forest University (Salem, NC)

University of the Pacific (Stockton, CA)

The answer to this question really depends on a number of factors:

1) Do you have a firm idea of what you want to focus on (i.e., do you have a stable enough research interest to write an SOP about?)

2) Do you have statistics training in your background? I know a lot of sociology degrees do train in stats.