Russia, Eastern Europe, Central Asia Regional Studies MA Programs 2018

Doge

Hi everyone!

Is anyone else applying to master's programs in area/regional studies in Russia, Eastern Europe, and Central Asia? Any past applicants or people currently in these programs?

Also, I have a 10 min interview with the REECA program at the Davis Center this friday and was just wondering if anyone has any advice on what I should expect, how I should prep for it etc.

@Doge

This is my first year applying! From past experience, there aren't usually that many people on GradCafe in this area of study, but hopefully someone will have some advice for you!

Is it safe to assume that you're more on the Russian side of things if you've applied to the REECA program at the Davis Center? Did you apply anywhere else?

I just finished up my application for Georgetown's MAERES, and while I'd planned on two other schools (Indiana-Bloomington's CEUS and Wisconsin-Madison's CREECA) I had some unforeseen circumstances that kept me from applying elsewhere. This is more of an experimental year, I suppose, unfortunately.

@mrs12

Great to see another applicant in the field!

17 hours ago, mrs12 said:

Is it safe to assume that you're more on the Russian side of things if you've applied to the REECA program at the Davis Center?

I've studied abroad in Russia and wrote a couple term papers relating to Russia, but I'm interested in the wider region too, specifically Ukraine, Georgia, and the conflict with Russia over NATO. I have some minor coursework on Kyrgyzstan and Ukraine, so I'd be down to learn more about them too. I've only studied Russian though, but would be interested to learn other regional languages in grad school. 

17 hours ago, mrs12 said:

Did you apply anywhere else?