Breaking Up in Grad School

NatRose

I'm only a month into grad school, and my boyfriend of 3 years dumped me.  I feel awful.  How did / do you deal with relationships / breakups during grad school?  Did it affect your work?

I was going through a divorce during my MA. Luckily, the ex and I had been emotionally broken up for a long time (and they moved to a different state which made it easier). It is definitely an added stress, but I enjoyed the distraction of my work (classes, research, etc). *hugs* You will make it through this. <3 

I empathize with you. I went through one major break-up while in school and I found it really hard to manage daily activities after that. But I've made it through. I'm sure you will too, even though, it must be indeed very difficult at first. Time often helps in these situations. And after some time, you end up realizing why it was a good thing that the relationship ended, even if you can't see it at first. 

Edited by Adelaide9216

Not grad school, but I went through a bad breakup a month into undergrad. It destroyed my academics and social life that semester, which is why I wanted to share. Looking back, I would recommend having a strict limit on how many nights you go out drinking or late each week. It can be easy to get sucked into a lot of that to fill the hole of loneliness. I would also look into techniques that help your concentration (exercise, taking breaks, study timetable... whatever may help). I struggled to stay focused on my work, and often even get to my work at all.