Moving Abroad - What To Take With You

✿Blossom✿

Hello everyone!

This is my first post here, so apologies if I make a mistake. I am an overseas student and I will be starting my PhD in the US in Fall 2018. This might sound like a silly question, but what do you think is the ideal number of clothes, shoes, or similar items of textiles that one should put in one's suitcase when one moves to a different country? I tried to imagine this, and I was dumbstruck when I thought about how much space some items would take - especially fluffy stuff like sweaters (a necessity for the cold climate of the city I'll live in). Add to that one coat for the winter, at least one bathrobe and maybe 1-2 bath towels... Well, you get the idea. 

On the one hand, I know I will be on a rather tight budget as a grad student, and therefore I want to take as many clothing items as I can, just so I won't have to go shopping for clothes (and clothes happen to be much cheaper in my home country, just like everything else. Why spend my meagre stipend on clothes?). On the other hand I don't want to attract attention in the residence hall by arriving there with 3 giant suitcases. O_O

I would like to know about the experiences of other grad students, if possible. Is it really as weird to take many clothes with you as I fear it might be? Also, could you recommend some stores where I could find cheap but decent clothing, in case I DO have to shop for clothes?

Thank you!

Hi! I'll also be starting my PhD in the US as an international student, but I've moved abroad before on my own so I might be able to help.

Firstly, no one will think it's weird if you arrive with 3 giant suitcases, especially since you're an international student!

You could consider taking the clothes you're likely to need in the first few months, and have the rest shipped over later? Since you're committing to a long time in another country you're likely to want quite a lot of things from home with you anyway.