Unpaid adjunct faculty

AP

In case you haven't heard, SIU is testing a hiring model where recent PhDs would do some faculty work with no pay. 

Here's the original post on facebook by Karen Kelsky.

Here's part of the Twitter feed where some positions argued that they would get paid in experience/exposure. This is a feed after someone called to ask about the position. 

Here and here are two important the HigherEd articles discussing the issue further. 

As many of you enter graduate school or have recently entered graduate school, these matters become more pressing. Participating in these conversations may help us polish our position towards these topics (such as labor conditions, compensation, adjuncts, and the like). As an international student, I am resolved not accept ridiculously exploitative labor conditions for clinging to a visa. 

What are your thoughts? 

As an international student, I am resolved not accept ridiculously exploitative labor conditions for clinging to a visa.

Out of interest, what's your plan for maintaining this resolve, outside of being a genius or marrying a rich citizen?

Edited by ExponentialDecay

This is disgusting.

My normal position is that I usually advocate for the freedom for people to make their own choices and decisions that reflect their priorities and goals. The main reason I would stray from this position is if doing so would cause more harm than good. This is a case where I would make an exception to my normal position.

I would never accept these ridiculously exploitative labour conditions. Furthermore, I would not only make this choice for myself, but I would actively discourage anyone I knew from making such a decision. Doing so harms the entire academic labour workforce, in my opinion.