GRE Worries

BrianM

Hey gang!

Newbie here, I've been worrying about the GREs that I will be taking in a month.

I was just wondering how much the GRE is looked at when applying to a general/clinical Psychology Masters program.

My undergrad record is:

3.871 Major GPA

3.62 Overall GPA

In Psychology I have:

been a teacher's assistant

interned at a hospital

participated in research

graduated with honors

been inducted into the Psi Chi society.

Now with that stated, if I receive somewhere around a 500 for the verbal and math section(or lower), would the undergrad record be more important?

I'm just really worried, as most probably are, about taking these tests, especially the math section, ugh!

Thanks so much!

Edited by BrianM

Hey gang!

Newbie here, I've been worrying about the GREs that I will be taking in a month.

I was just wondering how much the GRE is looked at when applying to a general/clinical Psychology Masters program.

My undergrad record is:

3.871 Major GPA

3.62 Overall GPA

In Psychology I have:

been a teacher's assistant

interned at a hospital

participated in research

graduated with honors

been inducted into the Psi Chi society.

Now with that stated, if I receive somewhere around a 500 for the verbal and math section(or lower), would the undergrad record be more important?

I'm just really worried, as most probably are, about taking these tests, especially the math section, ugh!

Thanks so much!

It's possible that they would overlook a lower GRE score (I'm admittedly not a Psych major) but the GRE is something you can study for, and improve your score. Because of this, a lot of schools will raise an eyebrow if you can't break the 1200 mark. This will vary by school/program because some schools don't even want your GRE, and others only use it for funding purposes. So investigate as much as you can into how much regard the programs you're interested in give to the GRE.