Leaving One for Another?

nushi

Hey everyone ?

I'm an international student who has been accepted in a university in the US (PhD program) with a fellowship for the first year, & then an assistantship.

I'm considering also application for a scholarship in an Australian university this July, which has a research center that I'm highly interested in. However, the results of Australian apps only appear in the start of the American academic year, whence I will probably have started my PhD in the American university.

I'm asking if it would be possible, or bad to leave that American university (after I started there, with a fellowship) if I get accepted in the Australian program that I prefer?

I highly need your advice, please, because I'm very confused. Have anyone passed through a similar experience before?

Can you defer (or reject) the American offer, find work as a research assistant in Egypt and then wait for the outcome in Australia? Presumably if you don't get admitted (the easy part) and receive a scholarship (the harder part) you can reapply in the American system a year later. One year probably isn't the biggest deal especially if you can find relevant work in the interim to boost your CV. 

I'm not going to ask why you prefer the Australian program, because I assume you've done your research and this is something you really want. Australian and American PhD programs are very different structurally, and Australia and the US are also very different places to live in among developed nations, so I can see why you might have a strong preference even before research is concerned. 

I agree with @lemma, either reject or defer the American admission. Knowingly applying for a program when you have already accepted an offer from a US institution can burn many bridges. In addition, it does not reflect well on your professional behavior, even to the Australian program. Remember that a lot of people are invested in your American offer (including LoRs writers).