Penn Relative Competitiveness

jurisdoctor

Hi everyone, thanks for reading this -- long time lurker. 

I am an attorney in the Philadelphia area, hoping to return to academia and currently whittling down my list of programs to apply to. I have been able to find a relative treasure trove of information about most programs, and I have spoken to applicants (both accepted and rejected) at all of the programs I am interested in, save for one -- Penn. This is made doubly vexing by the fact that I'm a Penn alum. 

More troubling is the fact that I think the Penn program has the most overlap with my area of interest. 

In sum, I'm trying to sort out how competitive the Penn program is. I think it is my first choice, and the fact that it does not require GRE scores plays a secondary (but not insignificant) part in that. I don't have a tremendous amount of time to devote to bolstering my application, and I have figured that I need to choose between preparing for the GRE or getting a publication in my area of interest prior to application. Therein lies the conundum.

I would like to zero in on the Penn program, forget all the others, and focus on tailoring my application to Penn. However, I don't want to take this tack if my application is not strong enough to have a good chance at being accepted. 

So help me, TGC. Does anyone know anyone that knows anyone that was accepted (or rejected, honestly!) to Penn's program and can give me an idea as to what their application looked like?

Thanks again.

JD

34 minutes ago, jurisdoctor said:

I am an attorney in the Philadelphia area, hoping to return to academia and currently whittling down my list of programs to apply to. I have been able to find a relative treasure trove of information about most programs, and I have spoken to applicants (both accepted and rejected) at all of the programs I am interested in, save for one -- Penn. This is made doubly vexing by the fact that I'm a Penn alum.