Undergrad Institution as a Basis for Considering Applicants

PsychWannabee

Hi all! In the midst of application season, I came across a thread on a different website where people discussed factors they considered when looking at psychology graduate applications, and one individual was very clear that they looked for a "high tier undergraduate institution". Some people pointed out that someone's choice of undergraduate institution could be situational/ circumstantial and not be reflective of that person's intellectual capacity, but that person insisted that it had to do with their aptitude. 

Personally, I am a bit biased in this situation because I graduated from a virtually unranked institution. This did not have anything to do with my aptitude as I graduated top of my class and had 95th+ percentile standardized test scores, excellent extra-curriculars, etc. I am a low-income, first-generation student, and, even with financial aid, there was no way I could financially be able to attend somewhere like UT- Austin even though I had automatic acceptance because of my credentials. So, in my humble opinion, it seems somewhat unfair and elitist (?) to disregard someone's application solely because of their undergraduate institution... 

My questions for you all are: In your opinion, what is your take on this issue? How much should undergraduate institution matter for graduate applications? Is it fair? Do you think it's completely valid even if it's unfair?

I'm speaking of instances in which the individual has great qualifications and the *blip* on their application is their undergrad institution, not lack of research, bad letters, etc.

Edited by PsychWannabee
grammar

8 hours ago, PsychWannabee said: