RA or Masters for pre-Clinical Pysch PhD experience?

k0909

hi all!  I am currently a senior undergrad psych major!  I applied for clinical phds this round and unfortunately I didn't get any interviews so I'm coming to terms with the fact that its not gonna work out this year ?

Fortunately, the lab that I work in has offered me a full-time RA position for next year!  This research is definitely what I want to pursue when I eventually try for PhDs again, and since I have been here for two years I am confident that they will give me responsibilities and experiences that will help me out. Unfortunately I was really hoping to move away from the town my undergrad institution is in, its a very small college town and I know that shouldn't be such a big deal but I'm really not looking forward to staying here another year

My dilemma is this: I got my official rejection from Boston University yesterday in which they encouraged me to apply for their masters program.  Furthermore, I know that two other schools I applied to and haven't heard from yet automatically consider rejected PhD applicants for their masters program.  So now I'm wondering what looks better on PhD applications for people who aren't coming straight out of undergrad: a masters degree or further research experience, like I would get as an RA?  My main concern, despite the fact that this lab is incredibly relevant to my interests, is that it wont look as good that I'll have 3 yrs research experience but its all in the same lab, like I didn't diversify myself enough.  I feel like a masters program would expose me to different and diverse things, but I also am not sure that it is necessary for me since I did psych in undergrad and I do already have 2 yrs of research experience. also I would feel terrible backing out on my lab from the position they offered me, I'm just not sure what is best for me ?