poor undergraduate GPA

BnTAcT

Hey everyone! I am trying to get opinions on my likelihood of getting accepted to Clinical PhD programs and Neuroscience PhD programs with a below average undergraduate GPA (3.2 overall and 3.25 last 60 hours). I worked in a lab for 1.5 years in undergrad and just started a position full time as a project coordinator in a neuroscience lab which is a two year commitment. I have not published yet but have a poster presentation coming up in a few months. My GRE scores were 160Q and 156V. Any advice on raising undergraduate GPA after graduation with other courses outside of doing a masters program? I am planning on applying for the Fall 2021 cycle. Any advice is appreciated!!!

If you've already graduated, there isn't really a way to change your undergrad GPA. A good masters GPA can overshadow the poor performance in undergrad. Your GRE scores are good, so that helps to balance it out. Just try to grind in that research lab and pump out as many posters/pubs as you can and make sure your LORs and SOP are stellar. 

16 hours ago, PsyDGrad90 said:

If you've already graduated, there isn't really a way to change your undergrad GPA. A good masters GPA can overshadow the poor performance in undergrad. Your GRE scores are good, so that helps to balance it out. Just try to grind in that research lab and pump out as many posters/pubs as you can and make sure your LORs and SOP are stellar. 

Have you heard of doing a graduate certificate to show you can do the coursework while working in another lab?

I had a 3.0 GPA from a top 20 school, mediocre GRE scores, and ~4 years of full-time experience as a technician in neuroscience labs. I just got into a Neuroscience PhD program for Fall 2019!!! I've been in your boat for 4 years-- agonizing over my low GPA, but my admittance should show you that anything is possible and that some programs really value strong research experience over perfect academic records!!! There is hope.