Scholars who analyze history in terms of power relations like Foucault?

ranttila1

I am currently an undergraduate who is looking for history professors who have studied under Foucault or have been influenced by him in their work. I want to study how different power relations have evolved throughout history in their various political, social, economic, etc. contexts. I know Foucault is further towards the side of a philosopher than a historian, but I want to use the same tools as he has to look at history, not just philosophize. 

Does anyone know of any historians that are close to or fit what I am looking for? I would like to study under one for a PhD.

What is your region/theme (other than power relations) that you want to study? What is your time frame? How do you want to study power relations? Do you have a specific area that you want to focus on, such as the global economy, the household, political movements, ideas and their "spread," and many more?

If you give us a bit more info, then we can help you narrow your search further.

51 minutes ago, Tigla said:

What is your region/theme (other than power relations) that you want to study? What is your time frame? How do you want to study power relations? Do you have a specific area that you want to focus on, such as the global economy, the household, political movements, ideas and their "spread," and many more?

If you give us a bit more info, then we can help you narrow your search further.

My main interest is in ideas and how they have spread throughout societies by way of power and the actions that it enacts. I want to study how what people perceive as “truth” has developed over time and why it has developed in that way. I am interested in not only moral notions of “truth”, but also in the obligations which have been internalized in people and have those obligations have came to be.

Does that help?

2 hours ago, ranttila1 said:

Does that help?

Not really.