F1 visa application from a third country: Confusion in DS160 questions

Hello all,

I am applying for F1 visa from Mexico city as a third country national. I am studying in Mexico and staying in Mexico on a student visa. I was filling up the DS160 and I encountered confusion in a few questions. I would appreciate if you can share your opinion/ideas/experiences on them.

'Intended length of stay ' : I talked to a professor and he said that the average time for completion of the PHD program is 5 years. It's also the same in an image describing the timeline of phD, on the website of the univ. But the program duration given on my I-20 is 8 years. So what to write as the answer to the question "intended length of stay" : 5 years or 8 years : as mentioned in the I-20 ?

It asks for home address and mailing address. Is 'home address' supposed to be the same as permanent address, as mentioned on my passport, or the temporary one here in Mexico city ?

That's all.

Cheers

I'm not going to say I'm 100% certain, but I'm pretty sure you should write 8 years, and home address means permanent address.

Even though your expected time in grad school is 5 years, you never want to take risks as an international student in having a visa that's potentially too short. If the I-20 your school issued you says 8 years, you should just follow what the I-20 says. They probably have the extra 3 years as a buffer for those ppl who end up staying an extra couple of years. Mailing address is the address they're actually going to send your passport back to, so make sure that's accurate.

> the max visa duration is 5 years. I put on 7 (the time on my DS-2019 - which is the same as the I20 but for J1), but they shortened it to 5. Nonetheless, just follow what is on your I20. Worst case you get picked out of line and they tell you the max duration is 5 years. You did not make a mistake.