CANADIAN Audiology Thread 2021

speechie97

Hey everyone.

I had trouble finding an Audiology forum for Canadian universities so I decided to make one myself! I am from Newfoundland and originally I was only going to apply to SLP programs, but I figured out that I had all the pre-reqs for Western's AUDI program so I thought I would apply there :) Ideally, I would like to become an SLP, but an audiologist is tied for first as well so either one I would be quite please about! Good luck to everyone!!

Edited by speechie97

Hi, I'm new to this forum.

I only applied to Western, what is the main thing they look for in the admissions process? I have a lot of volunteer experience, but not any audiology-related volunteer experience at all.

Applied to: Western

Accepted Waitlisted / Rejected

Hi guys!

I've applied to UBC and I am sooo nervous waiting to hear back!!  I have a lot of audiology experience (volunteer at a not-for-profit helping low income Deaf and hard of hearing individuals as well as working as an assistant in an audiology clinic for about 6 months and some job shadowing) but I'm nervous about my GPA.  I think I have about a 3.70 on UBC's 4.33 scale (about 80%) average in my last two years.  I did a biology degree for my undergrad and some of those hard science courses did a number on my GPA.  It seems like this program is just so competitive but it's so exciting to think about getting in!  Any other hopeful UBC Audi students out there?  

Applied to: UBC 

Accepted Waitlisted Rejected

• 2 weeks later...
On 3/5/2021 at 7:55 PM, speechie97 said:

Hey everyone.