Advice for applying next year?

Hello everyone! As many of you are probably experiencing, this cycle has been hellish. This is my first time applying to doctoral programs and I knew it would be hard and the programs are so competitive but I guess I didn't expect the emotional toll this would all take would be so dramatic. Anyways, I have been rejected from all programs except one where I was waitlisted and I'm not sure I would accept it if they offered it to me because it isn't funded so I am trying to prepare myself for another cycle and was wondering if anyone had any advice. My background: crappy undergrad GPA (2.8 I know, low right), 4.0 MS GPA (will graduate in April), been a TA/RA for all of graduate school, one first authored published paper, research experience: presented research in undergrad and my masters thesis. 

Here's the things I plan to do before now and then to beef up my applications. 

1) Presenting my masters thesis and my published research paper at my schools research conference. 

2) Possibly retake the GRE (really don't want to do this because it would be three times taking that god-forsaken test, and hoping the GRE will be cut anyways)

3) Attempting to publish my thesis and/or another research project this summer.

4) Working with my advisor on other research projects she is doing and/or get a job in the field for research experience.

5) Making personal statements better, applying to more schools, reaching out to POI's during the process