Applying for Fall 2011

Melchior

Hi, all! Who here is applying for fall 2011? I will be applying to PhD programs here in the US and a few MMus programs in the UK...

Hope to get a discussion going!

Good luck, all!

• 4 weeks later...

Hi there,

I'm applying for fall 2011, I'm considering Columbia, Stanford, UCSD, and Northwestern. However, I'm a little bit worried about the GRE and all of that (I'm an international student, so the verbal part is really hard for me). Do you think it's really important?

Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

I'm not sure how important it really is. I'm considering UPenn, and they have the range of GRE scores they accepted for their music PhD program; seems that it isn't all that important:

GRE Median - Verbal: 660

GRE Media - Math: 700

GRE Range - Verbal: 550-770

GRE Range - Math: 530-800

yeah, it doesn't seem such a big deal.

anyway, we'll try to do our best! Are you applying for musicology or comp?

by the way, thanks for your response.

Edited by txonet

yeah, it doesn't seem such a big deal.

anyway, we'll try to do our best! Are you applying for musicology or comp?

by the way, thanks for your response.

Musicology! I'm applying to Columbia and Stanford, too...

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi there!

I went through this process two years ago, and I would offer a few pieces of knowledge that I wish I had back then:

Preparation and research

1. Of course you'll want to find professors with your interests, but don't toss one out just because they're not exactly in your area of expertise; you'd be surprised how much it helps to have a professor who has a similar approach or philosophy, even coming from a different subject. Of course, if you're an incoming Master's student, there's always a possibility that your interests will change, so who knows. Full listing of musicology programs at http://www.ams-net.org/gradprog.php.