publications

cherubie

So in reading through many of the posts on this forum, I realize that almost everyone has at LEAST 1 publication under their belt. I didn't even think that this was normal for applicants. Do most people have a Masters (and thus published during this time), or is it the norm now for applicants to already have publications? My name is on one publication, but it was more so due to the generosity of the PI than anything else. The paper was based on the work I did, but heck I was a high school student, I hadn't even taken AP Biology yet lol.

I'm currently at a lab now and is *trying* to work towards publishing something (we have mounds of data that just needs to be extracted and published), but my main job is still to be a research ASSISTANT, not a graduate student. Am I missing something here?

P.S. sorry for saying publish/publication in every sentence.

Edited by cherubie

While I'm not in your field, I don't think having a publication is some "unofficial" requirement. I didn't have one, and no one made it seem like it matters. It's a plus, definitely, but I wouldn't worry over not having one. Besides, you do have a publication (from high school even!), which counts. I bet most other undergrads with pubs are not first authors, or the journal is low tier.

Depends on the lab. In my lab writing and submitting our own papers are a huge part of our job! Also, although all PIs don't do this, the person who does the work should get the credit via first authorship.

Do most people have a Masters (and thus published during this time), or is it the norm now for applicants to already have publications?