Advice for ugrad sophomore

I'm currently an undergraduate sophomore studying English. I'm definitely interested in pursuing a PhD in English—my interests right now are the realist novel and American lit 1918-1939.

Although I've read a decent amount of theory, I'm looking for lit crit/theory texts that are must reads if I'm preparing for an advanced degree in English.

Also, any suggestions as to productive summer activities? I'll be doing an internship around 15 hours a week, so I'll have time to spare.

Thanks for the help.

Edited by basicpolitics

Although I've read a decent amount of theory, I'm looking for lit crit/theory texts that are must reads if I'm preparing for an advanced degree in English.

Try and get a working knowledge of the history of criticism as opposed to just the C. 20th stuff. It's invaluable to see where some of the ideas came from ie. Longinus' setting the stage for Kant and Burke. For that, check out the Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism (3rd ed) or Adams' Critical Theory Since Plato. Both provide solid overviews.

From there, I would see what approaches interest you the most as potential lenses through which to read. I quite like Northrop Fry's Theory of Modes myself.

I'm currently an undergraduate sophomore studying English. I'm definitely interested in pursuing a PhD in English—my interests right now are the realist novel and American lit 1918-1939.

Also, any suggestions as to productive summer activities? I'll be doing an internship around 15 hours a week, so I'll have time to spare.

Thanks for the help.