Charlottesville, VA

Guest guest

Guest Guest

Hi, I am an undergrad at UVA. There is a lot of commotion right now about a few racist incidents at UVA (derogatory statements thrown at students, put on their doors, etc.), and as I understand it, the queer population is not completely comfortable here. However, speaking as a non-white, straight student (FYI), I don't think there is too much of a problem. The administration bends over backwards to accommodate diversity issues (we recently got a diversity officer...). There are like 8 jillion cultural student groups here, all very active, and there is a very good Queer Student Union. So basically, you will easily be able to find a niche, if so you choose, and you should not have to consider race/orientation conditions as the deciding factor.

That being said, if it is *very* important to you to be on a very liberal campus, you can probably do better than UVA.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest guest

Does anybody live here? How is the life in Charlottesville? How expensive is it to live in an one bedroom apt? I am considering to go there for grad school.

Guest guest

i live in charlottesville right now. the living expense here is ok, not very expensive. the rent is about $500-$300. personally, i don't really like this place because the public transportation is so bad here. if you don't have a car (which is my case), you basically get stuck on campus. kind of boring. two hours and a half to D.C., and one hour to richmond. hope this is useful.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest a guest

so, i can't really think of any specific thing to ask, just what other information can any of you give on the town? what kind of people live there, what's the weather like, is it easy to find a place to live, etc etc

i haven't been to charlottesville ever, and it looks like i might live there for 5 or 6 (or more) years, so someone gimme the lowdown

Guest a guest again