Addressing Professors

apop

I'm in my first year of my MA and have been told by my professors to call them by their first names. However, I like the 'familiarity gap' that exists with calling them 'Dr. whatever'. I do not know if this is because I am a female and want to keep these relationships strictly professional (it is no secret that there has been some foul-play in the department in the past). But I am there to obtain my degree and grow academically, nothing more.

That being said, I do not want to offend anyone. Any advice here?

Thanks!

Honestly, if they say it's okay to call them by their first name then call them by their first name. I understand the weirdness factor. I went to a very traditional school for undergrad. You didn't call a professor by their first name. It was always Dr. ______. If you had a good relationship with them, then you could just call them by their last name and leave off the Dr. So it was weird coming to such a relaxed environment for grad school. So are you just weirded out by calling them by their first name because it feels too personal? I guess I never thought about such a thing making you feel vulnerable. Now that I do think about it, I guess I could see that. But do you really think your professor is going to hit on you? Or is it just a rumor that you heard?

Edited by robot_hamster