Studying isn't that necessary...

wildmanatee

About a week before taking the gre, I was browsing this forum for info on the new scale and could not get over how many people spent months studying for this thing. I suppose if you want a perfect score then okay, but really... Anyway I just wanted to let my fellow slackers know that you are not doomed if you aren't practicing an hour a day for 6 months. I studied for ~3 days and came out with V: 650-750 and Q: 670-770. Obviously not the best scores ever, but I'm happy. Now, back to xbox :)

Congratulations, you're happy. You tested well. Your methods and background worked for you. Consider yourself lucky.

You'll have a long and difficult road ahead if you think you can successfully slack your way through grad school, too- assuming you're even accepted into a program. You're not nearly as clever as you think you are; slacking on any part of the application is just a BAD idea. If you're not even willing to put forth an honest effort to study for an entrance exam, you really just don't belong in the applicant pool.

My 0.02.

Edited by dimanche0829

And yet most faculty I know would say that they really don't understand why people spend so much time studying as well.

I you need the study time to get good scores then by all means take it- but there seem to be a fair number of people who are studying a lot try to get perfect or near perfect scores, something that is absolutely not necessary.

There is a lot of academia that is honestly about learning how to do "enough". Not overdoing it, not underdoing it and not focussing so much on one thing that you lose sight of the big picture.

If you want to say that someone shouldn't be in the applicant pool because they didn't study for the GRE (which is not, by the way, an entrance exam), the majority of my program wouldn't have been considered.