Hypnotoad

Hello all. My question concerns the benefits of obtaining a History MA before applying to a PhD History program.

I finished my undergrad degree in May 2010, and it was always my plan to wait a few years after graduating before applying to graduate school. I'm not sure why, but that was always the way I envisioned doing it. Grad school has always been in my thoughts however, and I plan to spend the next year applying for the Fall 2013 term.

I guess I don't really have a more specific question other than, 'What are the benefits and drawbacks of each path?' Applying to an MA program first, versus applying straight to a PhD program.

One thing I've noticed so far is that PhD programs seem to be more common, so maybe it would be easier to find the right place for me. Just a thought.

I don't have anything more detailed than that yet, so I was hoping people who have gone each route can share their thoughts and perhaps this will help me tease out some of the specifics of my situation. Any info is appreciated, and feel free to ask me any question. Thanks for the help.

In many cases, I think that getting a MA first is useful for filling in any weaknesses you have, particularly in research and possibly also language training (not that a MA is necessary for that). There is a thread about a person lacking research experience in the history forum and you might read it to find out if the advice people are giving there is applicable to you.