Need Advice on a Professor

indorichai

I'm currently at the university library studying for mid-terms for a class where I think the professor treats me unfairly as compared to the other students. This has been bothering me for a long time and I keep on second-guessing myself. Maybe I am overreacting? Maybe I am reading into things too much? However, whenever I do second-guess myself, she somehow reaffirms my biases in class.

Here is the background story:

I am currently a graduate student getting my master's degree in education, mainly in science education. Unfortunately our university took away the graduate program for science education, so I have to take some undergraduate courses in that area. The professor that I currently have is one of the main advisors for the science education program. Before I signed up for classes for Spring 2012, I planned to go to her for advice on signing up for classes. Now, I don't really believe that first impressions are everything, but I am beginning to believe it after the way she treats me. During our first meeting, she asked me why I was interested in science education. I told her my story (that I have a B.S. in chemistry and found my passion for teaching when I went abroad for a year to teach English), but then she kept on rudely interrupting me saying stuff like "we don't joke around here, this is serious stuff..." I had no idea I was joking in the first place, but okay. Then, as she was making me nervous, I mentioned that I wanted to get quality "training," which then she interrupts me again and says "we don't use that word here." At that moment, I thought somebody was pulling a mean prank on me. What did I do to deserve this? America could benefit from quality science teachers and she's just pushing them away (or maybe she just automatically assumed that I was not going to be 'quality'). Anyways, I was turned off by her highly judgmental nature towards me but I did need her to help me on picking out classes which she did a