I want it, but I don't want it..

I'm a 22 year old undergrad at a university in Florida right now.

I applied to 10 clinical PhD programs. When I applied, I knew my GRE score was low and I have no publications and not that great of research experience so I considered myself to be not too strong of an applicant, but I applied anyway just "because".

I had ZERO expectations to get in anywhere. In fact, I had already started applying to jobs here so I could work for a few years. I was okay with that, I took comfort in it actually. I thought it would give me a break from school and prepare me to re-apply in a couple of years. But then...

I got into a program. I went on the interview, loved the faculty and lab members, liked the campus and the area, really liked the overall "feel" and the work that I would be doing. And I got in.

Naturally I was really excited and in complete shock that I actually got accepted - little old me! I didn't get in anywhere else. After a few days the excitement when away and I'm now terrified.

As I sit here for the last 2 weeks delaying giving them an official answer...I. Am. Freaking. Out.

And here's why:

- The program is in Michigan, more than a 20 hour drive from home.

My undergrad is only 1.5 hours from my hometown.

I have NEVER been so far from my friends, my family, and my boyfriend. If I'm ever homesick or just need to be with them, I can basically go whenever. 20 hours is a little less doable.

-I mentioned I'm from Florida. I've never lived in cold. Actually, I've never lived below 40 degrees, really, save a few freak cold fronts. Sure the cold and snow is beautiful to visit for a few days, but I have no idea how I'd deal with that...certainly I don't have the proper attire and I feel cold just thinking about it.