How to do with jealousy of new grad student in lab?

diane07

Hi everybody,

I am a first year graduate student and am the first student in my lab (brand new professor/PI). I love my project, and get along great with the two post-docs and my PI, but there were just interviews of the new potential incoming class and my PI talked to a student that I can tell he absolutely loves. He has been gushing about this student to myself and the post-docs, saying how excited he was and that he hopes that he'll at least rotate in our lab.

Now, maybe I'm just being paranoid because my project is in a bit of a rut, but I can't help but feel super anxious that I'm going to get shelved if this student joins our lab and hence get little to no guidance from my PI. Based on the nature of my project (and the fact I'm relatively new to a lot of these techniques), he's been really involved in the process, and I'm worried that having this student join will completely change this dynamic.

Am I crazy? Has anyone else had to deal with this? I don't know how to communicate these worries to my PI without sounding like a jealous older sibling fighting for my parents' attention.

Thanks for reading!

There's no way one other grad student would significantly change the dynamic or the amount of time you would spend with your professor. I think you are a bit crazy, and I don't think there's anyway to communicate this to your PI without sounding immature. In fact you should support your PI in growing his lab and research group. Having other students can be really helpful to you too, somebody to bounce ideas off of.

I think "crazy" is a bit harsh. I would say that as a new grad student these feelings are perfectly normal, but I would not act on them. Try to think about how this new student could inspire you, always search for the bright spot in situations. Don't stress unless the time calls for it.