What is your Journey?

CP3

We all come from different areas of expertise, backgrounds, ethnicities and countries.

Does anyone want to share their journey to applying to grad school???

I will begin---

I graduated from xxx University with a Bachelor Degree in 2006. 2 weeks later, I began a Masters degree at the same University. I goofed off, taught classes hungover and got mediocre grades my first two semesters. It took me a few years, but eventually I got my $%% together.... then I took a one year break to sell products to make good money. Then, I returned to school to finish my Masters Degree. 

I graduated and got married, now I am applying to PhD programs. 

I think it would be really great for all of us to share our unique stories, instead of the usual bitching and moaning that we all participate in on a daily basis!  :)

Here is my story ---

I'm from SE Asia. I went to the US for school, graduated with a BS in 2003, and MS in 2006 both in chemical engineering from the same university.

Continued to work in my professor's lab while I looked for a job in the US. Because I'm not a US citizen/PR, it took me 8 months to find a company who's willing to sponsor my work visa. I worked there as a researcher for about 2 years, and then decided to come home.

Got a research job at a petrochemical company, been working there since 2009

Got bored with my job, decided to apply to PhD programs for Fall 2012....only applied to top programs, waitlisted from a few schools, didn't get in anywhere

And here I am, trying again this year...