Is TA'ing as horrible as I am imagining?

ion_exchanger

Hello all. I am a prospective graduate student starting in the fall. While deciding on a school, one deciding factor is the requirement to be a TA. Most of my schools don't require it or it is optional, but at one school I am considering, it's required. I have spent over a year tutoring students, but they were all students in my major and cared somewhat about the subject and their class grade. I will be teaching a lab class to non-majors, who may or may not have an interest in science or even doing well in the course. I don't feel as if I will be a good instructor or enforcer, and am worried I will be so nervous that they will see through me. I don't want to rule out an otherwise good fit because the TA requirement has me worried. During the interview I asked the students if they had any problems with TA'ing. Obviously there were some concerns, but they all said that it wasn't as bad as they thought, and some even liked it. I felt better, but was also skeptical that they were holding back just because the whole point of the weekend is to convince me to attend, not to scare me away! Any outside opinions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I think you should try to observe a current TA teaching a course that you would likely end up teaching.  That will give you an idea of what you might have to do as a TA, how to set up your lessons, etc.  If TA'ing is not for you, it is okay to admit it and go somewhere else.  If you are willing to give it a try, make sure you know what you're walking into; undergrads NEED labs that are taught by TA's who want to be there.  In undergrad some years ago, i had the unfortunate experience of a lab taught by someone "made" to do it and they were absolutely terrible and I learned nothing, despite my willingness and desire to learn (it was economics).