Canadian Universities MSW. The waiting game 2015 admissions

smpalesh

Thought I would start a new thread for the upcoming application cycle!

Short intro about me:  My name is Shawna, I graduated with my BSW in June of 2014.  I applied to both Laurier and UofT for the Fall 2014 cycle and I was waitlisted to Laurier and accepted to UofT.   Unfortunately due to personal reasons I was not able to attend UofT this year but thankfully they were very accommodating about deferring my acceptance to Fall 2015.  So my current status is that I am already accepted to UofT for the advanced standing MSW for Fall 2015.  I have also decided to re-apply to Laurier and hope my waitlist turns to an acceptance this time because I have children and ideally I would rather be close to home for my MSW.

I graduated with my BSW from Memorial U's 5 year BSW program in 2011. I've been working in child protection since then, as well as part time work as an addictions counsellor and disaster management volunteer with the Canadian Red Cross. 

I'm planning on applying to the distance programs at U Vic and Waterloo as well as the on campus program at U of Manitoba. My boyfriend's family is from there, so we would move there for two years while renting out our house. Scary stuff! 

I'm considering applying to Dal as well for their distance program.

Edited by JellzBellz

I graduated with an Honours BA in Health Studies & Sociology in 2013 and I am currently working for a research team at a hospital that looks at children's development (from all aspects - cognitive to physical etc.) over the lifespan in addition to studying their mother's well being :) I have a diverse volunteer background ranging from 2 projects abroad to community organizations involving teaching, coaching, and CAS, and then fundraising and advocating for national organizations like Kids Help Phone!