What to do when your former mentor pisses you off

niceweather

I was in a doctoral program where I was disrespected and falsely accused for no reason until last year. In the end, I decided to drop out with a master's degree because the level of bad treatment was heightening and I was having problems both mentally and physically.

I stayed on good terms with two professors whom I met in the program and who guided me to actually transition to my current field of study which is slightly different from the previous one. They wrote me good letters of rec. for all my PhD applications and one of them, A,  suggested throwing a party for me when this semester wraps up. I agreed and it all sounded perfect until I got an email from B with whom I have not spoken to ever since I graduated.

B was one of my two advisers in the prior program and also someone who was part of the rumor, changed her words on me, and talked me into dropping out of the program in the end. I got fed up with B's pretentiousness so I just cut her out of my life last year so as not to be disturbed by any of the bad memories and sufferings I have had.

What happened to the email was that A cc'd B in her latest email to me to invite B to the party. B's email was a formal congratulations note with an acceptance of the invitation. I found this very inappropriate on A's end so I did not email back any of them. I would not care to stay in touch with B at all because she's not in my field anymore. However, A would be a great asset both as my former mentor and future colleague so I do not wish to burn the bridge I have with A. What do you think I should do? 

This thing's been lingering on my mind for the past week and I really think I need an answer now.

Edited by niceweather