Anxious Nervous Scared About Starting Grad School

Hello everyone. I have been away from school for the past 14 months. 

In one week, I will begin a Master's program in Marriage and Family Therapy. 

I have one prior grad school experience: I did 2 years in graduate school (theology), but I never finished. 

I am very anxious/nervous/scared about going back to grad school. 

I suffer from anxiety disorder/panic attacks and depression...

Is anyone else anxious/nervous/scared about grad school studies? 

Does anyone else struggle with mental health issues? (anxiety or depression)

Hey! Fellow incoming student here! I graduated from my undergraduate program in June 2014, and have not been in school since then (although I HAVE been working in an academic setting the entire time) so I completely see why you would be worried! 

This month has been a bit jittery for me too. On one hand I'm excited about what's to come; on the other, the anticipation of starting something brand new and heading down a more specific path is pretty daunting. 

I know that I'm not in the same particular situation as you are, balancing a new school term with personal issues, but just remember that everyone around you is, and will be, a great supportive system! Regardless of how things looks, you've made it into a program that you hand selected and it will be a great experience! The ups and downs will come, but in the end things will work out. Life has a way of going topsy-turvy before it settles for each of us. We just have to experience the roller coaster ride quite a few times first!

Any current grad students or other incoming students with more sound wisdom and advice that want to chime in?

• 2 weeks later...