I don't have a BS in SLP. What are my chances for acceptance into grad school?

Hi.

I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in English and have no SLP experience. I've been doing a lot of research lately and see there are many "leveler" programs that I can apply for to start my education towards becoming an SLP. I'm looking at NAU, U of A, and St. Cloud.... 

I'm really worried about how my application will stand against someone who has much more experience in the field than me.

My GPA is 3.9... I haven't taken the GRE yet, but I know my scores need to be stellar. I feel like my Statement of Purpose will be pretty strong, despite my lack of experience in the field. I was in a coma for 3 months and had to undergo physical, speech, and occupation therapy afterwards... so that's kind of my angle, as I do want to help others who find themselves in this life changing situation.

Anyways, what do you think my chances are of being accepted into a program? Do you think it's a better idea if I study to become an SLPA before applying to a program and why? I've considered this, but I'm not sure how much extra time it'll take to go from SLPA to SLP, as opposed to just jumping in headfirst and working towards SLP (why not just go for the gold?). And, do you have any other advice for me?

Thank you so much for your thoughts!!!!!

Look into GWU post bacc program, its awesome you get those courses that you have to have and you get merged into their first year class. I think looking at programs like this and doing some observation hours, and getting the experience through volunteering and getting good LOR can make you a competitive applicant. 

Good luck! 

Yeah, I would say instead of SLPA do a post-bacc and lots of observing/volunteering. You could apply to leveling grad programs and post-bacc programs at the same time, just to give you a back-up if you don't get into a grad program right away.